Posted by WebVee on November 14, 2016 in Uncategorized

NYC Web Fest Announces Winners – Erika Robel’s Fully Engaged wins as Best Comedy, Lemmings Receives Best Web Series Prize


With its slogan as “the greatest city in the world celebrates the web,” now in its third year, NYCWF has established itself as the festival to watch series produced by newcomers and industry heavyweights.  This year’s festival screened a total of 96 titles like Fully Engaged created by Erika Robel of NBC’s The Blacklist.  Other highlights including the world premiere of gritty crime drama Trap Plane, and the festival premiere of India’s controversial same-sex drama The Other Love Story.

Held November 10-12th, 2016 at the PIT Loft, the festival was created by Lauren Atkins to bring together a multifaceted, diverse group of people from around the world to showcase the best of the web, and to serve as the premier home for digital producers on an international level.  Creators from around the world attend NYCWF, with guests coming in from Canada, Australia, Ireland, Brazil, New Zealand, England, and many from across the United States.

This year’s Judges included Major Crimes star Tony Denison MuchMusic’s April Day, TDot TV’s Justin Edmead, Big Vision Empty Wallet’s Alex Cirillo & Dani Faith Leonard, filmmaker Xavier Burgin, and BET Actor Austen Jaye.

WebVee Guide’s Jeanette Bonner and Alisha Spielmann were there to cover the event. See their interviews with creators here!

The complete list of winners:

Outstanding Achievement in Editing to Gretchen Peterson, Jiwi’s Machines

Outstanding Achievement in Sound to Garret Farrell, Rapt

Outstanding Achievement in Music Dorothy Wallace, for Meet the Ladybugs

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography to Russell Gleeson, Rapt

Outstanding Achievement in Writing Katie Maguire, Catherine CallahanLI Divas

Outstanding Achievement, Animation to chaosmonger studio OÜ for Life Sucks! But at Least I’ve Got Elbows

Original Concept to Elisabeth Durkin, Mathilde Dratwa, Almost Anonymous

Best Supporting to Actress Claire Lovering, The Agent

Best Supporting Actor to Chris Eckert, Empty Space

Best Ensemble Cast to Peter Ferriero, Katie Barbaro, Leon Salem, Chris Rockwell, Sam Kramer for OMG For Pete’s Sake

Best Documentary to Chocolate Films for 1000 Londoners

Best Mystery/Thriller to Tom Francis for Scout

Best Drama to Juan Vasquez for Trap Plane

Best Dramedy to Laura Frenzer, Rohana Kenin, for 47 Secrets to A Younger You

Best Comedy to Different Duck Films for Fully Engaged

Special Guest Star to Sherrod Small for LI Divas

Best Actress to Liz Days for Plant

Best Actor to Andreas Damm, The Yearbook

Best Foreign Language Web Series to Fran Estévez for Idiotas

Best International Web Series to Daniel Krige for The Agent

I love NY to Plaid Couch LLC for Sublets

Audience Choice Award to Tru Dot Productions & Indigo7 Productions for Haunted or Hoax

Best Director to Roopa Rao for The Other Love Story

Best Web Series to 32nd Street Productions, for Lemmings





Share This: